Isavasya OR Isa Upanisad
Brhadaranyaka Upanisad
Chandogya Upanisad
Taittiriya Upanisad
Aitareya Upanisad
Kausitaki Upanisad
Kena Upanisad
Katha Upanisad
Svetasvatara Upanisad
The Mundaka Upanisad
Prasna Upanisad
Mandukya Upanisad
Maitri Upanisad
Chapter One
Chapter Two
Chapter Three
Chapter Four
Chapter Five
Chapter Six
Chapter Seven
Maitri Upanisad

Chapter Five

1. Here now is Kutsayana’s hymn of praise:
You are Brahma, you are Vishnu too:
You are Rudra, you are Prajapati.
You are Agni, Varuna, Vayu:
You are Indra, you are the Moon.

You are Manu, you are Yama,
You are Earth, the Unfallen likewise.
For your sake and the sake of your own nature
You rest in the sky in many forms.

Lord of all, homage to you,
Self of all, doer of all works:
Enjoyer of all, you are the whole lifespan,
The ruler who delights in all games.

Homage to you, peaceful self,
Homage to you, greatest secret,
Unthinkable, immeasurable,
Without beginning or end.

2. In the beginning this was darkness (tamas). Later, that was move by something else, and became unbalance. That is the form of passion (rajas). Passion was moved and became unbalanced. That is the form of darkness. Purity (sattva) was moved. From purity flowed the essence. That is the portion consisting solely of consciousness which is the field-knower in each person, Prajapati whose characteristics are will, determination and conceit. Brahma, Rudra and Visnu are called the supreme forms of him. His portion of darkness is Rudra. His portion of passion is Brahma. His portion of purity is Visnu. After becoming threefold, he became eightfold, elevenfold, twelvefold, infinite-fold. Because of his becoming (udbhutatva), he is beings. He is the self inside and outside- inside and outside.